Welcome to the Official Website of the Superior Court Clerks of Georgia

What is a superior court clerk? Superior court clerks have been around since the inception of the State of Georgia. "Clerk of Court" is one of four elected county offices created by the Georgia Constitution. Each of Georgia’s 159 counties has one. Clerks are the official record keepers of the county—they receive and maintain criminal and civil court filings and serve as custodian of county land and property records.


12 Jul New Retirement Fund Board Appointees!

On Friday, July 12th, Governor Kemp swore in five clerks to the Board of Commissioners of the Superior Court Clerks' Retirement Fund of Georgia. Created in 1952 with the purpose of administering retirement benefits to Georgia Superior Court Clerks who meet specific eligibility requirements, the Board of Commissioners is composed of seven members. Five are Superior Court Clerks, at least one of whom is retired, appointed by the Governor for 3-year terms with the possibility of reappointment (O.C.G.A 47-14-20). Click the title of this post for an updated list of members. Follow us on Twitter or Facebook to see photos!

08 Feb Welcome to the Clerk Family!

In the past three months, four new clerks have taken office. Please join us in welcoming Danielle Forte (Muscogee County), Sheila Butler (Paulding County), Stacie Baines (Polk County), and Chekeidra Crimes (Webster County) to the clerk family!

10 Jan Courthouse Security Standards

The document "Georgia Standards for the Security of Courthouses and Other Court Facilities" has been added to the Clerk Resources page of this website. Click the title above to view.

20 Sep New Jury Composition Rule!

The Georgia Supreme Court has issued a new jury composition rule (click above to view). The new rule is available for viewing on the Supreme Court website and represents a significant update of the former rule. Clerks take on the responsibility of being familiar with the Jury Composition Rule, which governs the creation and handling of their County Master Jury Lists. The Council of Superior Court Clerks compiles the Statewide Master Jury List in accordance with this rule.