Home  Site Map  Contact Us   Resource Center
Friday February 23, 2018
Skip Navigation Links
Superior Court Clerks
Clerk of the Year
Association Home Page
Skip Navigation Links
The prestigious Stetson F. Bennett Superior Court Clerk of the Year award was founded by the Bennett family in 1985. The award is presented to honor and bring recognition to the most dedicated group of public servants who have gone unrecognized for years, and to encourage excellence in all members of the Clerks' Association.

The 2014 Stetson F. Bennett Superior Court Clerk of the Year is Cinda Sloan Bright of Wilkinson County. Mrs. Bright, a native of Wilkinson County, graduate of Wilkinson County High School, received his BA in Business Administration with a major in Accounting from Georgia College and State University. She was elected as the first female Wilkinson County Clerk of Court in the summer of 1980 at the age of 22, and has held the position for almost 9 terms, the first 2 with opposition. She has served in various seats throughout her career including being the current President of the Council of Superior Court Clerks, currently 2014-2016, District Chair of the 8th Judicial District in 2005, 2007 and 2008, a two time recipient of the District 8 Superior Court Clerk of the Year in 2003 and 2012. She successfully completed the requirements of the University of Georgia's Carl Vinson Institute of Government November 13, 2007 and is now recognized as a “Certified Clerk of Superior Court” in the State of Georgia. This certification involved completion of twelve six-hour courses and a required project thesis.

She attends the Northridge Christian Church in Milledgeville. She is a member of the Wilkinson County Chamber of Commerce. Her office was awarded the 2013 Government Agency of the Year by the Chamber.

Mrs. Bright is the wife of Fred Bright, District Attorney of the Ocmulgee Judicial Circuit . They have two sons, Jonathan and Jacob. Jonathan received his JD from the University of Georgia School of Law in 2014 and a MS degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 2011 in Electrical and Computer Engineering practices. He is an Associate in the Law firm of Fish & Richardson in Atlanta. Jacob is a sophomore at Georgia Military College Prep School in Milledgeville and plays a variety of sports including football, baseball and basketball.

Cinda enjoys serving the citizens of Wilkinson County and meeting new people every day. She says she was humbled by receiving such a prestigious award by her fellow Clerks and that family sometimes extends beyond those to whom you are related by blood or marriage. The Clerk family is always there in support of each other, sharing ideas and staying up on the latest technology challenges in their respective offices as well as new legislation that passes annually. She feels it is truly an honor to be recognized by her peers.

Past recipients of this award were:
2013 Honorable Bart W. Jackson Jones County
2012 Honorable Pat V. Anderson Elbert County
2011 Honorable Jean H. Rogers Crisp County
2010 Honorable Dena M. Adams White County
2009 Honorable Chess Fountain Toombs County
2008 Honorable Mildred Peeler Wilkes County
2007 Honorable Beverly Logan Clarke County
2006 Honorable Linda T. Miller Clayton County
2005 Honorable Tom Lawler Gwinnett County
2004 Honorable Frank Abbott Lamar County
2003 Honorable Connie Cheatham McDuffie County
2002 Honorable Edward E. Tucker Lumpkin County
2001 Honorable Sara Crow Lowndes County
2000 Honorable Dwight S. Wood Hall County
1999 Honorable Linda D. Hays Newton County
1998 Honorable Sandra C. Glass Oconee County
1997 Honorable Carol Jackson White County
1996 Honorable Gary Yates Gwinnett County
1995 Honorable Joanne P. Caldwell Rockdale County
1994 Honorable Sara E. Taylor Henry County
1993 Honorable Barry Wilkes Liberty County
1992 Honorable Annette Fleming Cherokee County
1991 Honorable Woodson Daniel Pulaski County
1990 Honorable David Ridgeway Butts County
1989 Honorable Ovis Stephens Crisp County
1988 Honorable Edward Trice Upson County
1987 Honorable Sandra Galloway Willis Polk County
1986 Honorable Joe B. Mundy Clayton County
1985 Honorable Stetson F. Bennett Wayne County

© 2018 Superior Court Clerks’ Association of Georgia, Inc. All rights reserved